Every Summer After Paperback by Carley Fortune

Best Bookstore

Every Summer After Paperback by Carley Fortune

Regular price $24.00
Unit price  per 
Shipping will be calculated at checkout.

Currently Available
Add to Wishlist

Product Details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Viking (May 10 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0735243751
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 9780735243750
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 281 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.89 x 2.16 x 20.75 cm

This much-anticipated, game-changing special edition of Canada's premier annual fiction anthology celebrates the country's best emerging Black writers.

For over thirty years, The Journey Prize Stories has consistently introduced readers to the next generation of great Canadian writers. The 33rd edition of Canada's most prestigious annual fiction anthology proudly continues this tradition by celebrating the best emerging Black writers in the country, as selected by a jury comprising internationally acclaimed, award-winning writers David Chariandy, Esi Edugyan, and Canisia Lubrin.  

An eagle-eyed mother and a hungry child contend with the aftereffects of an unusual multi-course meal. Both the debts of the past and the promise of the future hover over two siblings as they debate what to do with an unexpected windfall. A pesky but beloved baboon looms large in the memory of a daughter whose family has been forced to move to a new town. Unclear boundaries and cheerful hypocrisy dominate a woman’s whirlwind romance with a photographer. A schoolgirl contends with complicated emotions as she awaits the return of her long-absent mother. News of a hunter’s death reverberates throughout his family, travelling across oceans and phonelines to trouble his cousin’s already-shaky relationship. An office worker joins a lost grandmother on an unexpected pilgrimage. After years away, a woman journeys back to Jamaica—and back to the sister who refused to leave with her—stirring up insecurities, laughter, and wounds unhealed by time. All the instructions in the world cannot protect a family from the impacts of grief. The only Black girls in school experiment with what it means to be a lady when you’re not yet a woman.

About Author

CARLEY FORTUNE is the author of Every Summer After, the New York Times and #1 Globe and Mail bestselling novel. She lives in Toronto with her husband and two sons. Her second book, Meet Me at the Lake, comes out May 2, 2023.

Spin to win Spinner icon