The Many Masks of Andy Zhou Hardcover by Jack Cheng

Best Bookstore

The Many Masks of Andy Zhou Hardcover by Jack Cheng

Regular price $24.49 Sale price $23.48
Unit price  per 
Shipping will be calculated at checkout.

Currently Available
Add to Wishlist

Product Details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Dial Books (June 6 2023)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0525553827
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 9780525553823
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 431 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.76 x 2.87 x 21.92 cm

“Another beautiful book by Jack Cheng.” —Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe

Creative and brave sixth grader Andy Zhou faces big changes at school and at home in this new novel by the award-winning author of See You in the Cosmos, for fans of When You Trap a Tiger and The Stars Beneath Our Feet


Andy Zhou is used to being what people need him to be: the good kid for his parents and now grandparents visiting from Shanghai, or the helpful sidekick to his best friend Cindy’s rebellious plans and schemes.

So when Cindy decides they should try out for Movement at school on the first day of sixth grade, how can Andy say no? But between feeling out of place with the dancers, being hassled by his new science partner Jameel, and sensing tension between his dad and grandfather, Andy feels all kinds of weird.

Then, over anime, Hi-Chews, and Andy’s lizard-inspired artwork, things shift between him and Jameel, opening up new doors—and also new complications.

No matter how much Andy cares about his friends and family, it’s hard not to feel pulled between all the ways he's meant to be, all the different faces he wears, and harder still to figure out if any of these masks is the real him.

“A joy and a journey.” —Tae Keller, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Trap a Tiger
“Sincere . . . Perceptive . . . Captures the joys and complex anxieties of middle school.” Kirkus
"Beautiful . . . Recommended for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Nicole Melleby." —SLJ
"Realistic . . . Compelling."Booklist
“There’s an aching poignancy [that] will resonate with kids.” BCCB
“Andy’s quiet courage and budding artistry have readers cheering him on.” —Paula Yoo, National Book Award longlisted-author of From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry


About Author

Jack Cheng is a Shanghai-born, Detroit-based author of critically acclaimed fiction for young readers. His debut middle grade novel, See You in the Cosmos, won the Golden Kite and Great Lakes, Great Reads awards. Jack has visited schools across the globe speaking with students about finding their paths as writers and artists. He is a 2019 Kresge Artist Fellow.

Author Residence: Detroit, MI


Spin to win Spinner icon